Sustainable living

Hello folks!

So there’s been a lot going on in my brain. Mostly wedding stuff. Of course. But even a bride needs a break from all that lace and frills!

I’ve been following a specific blog for quite some time now (the blog is no secret…click here for a little squizz) and find the blogger’s views and opinions very out there, but that’s what I enjoy the most about reading it. A real ef-you-in-the-face-if-you-dont-like-it attitude. When you start writing a blog, I find it quite easy to start steering my posts in the direction of the reader – will they like it? is that too harsh? what will the reader think? How will they judge me? Instead of just writing for yourself and what YOU think. So, this blog has gotten me to think a lot about our living habits. What we eat, how we prepare our food, how we treat other people, you know, hippie stuff. (i love them hippies) and more specifically on what we eat, and even mooooooore specifically…..meat. (for some reason that reminded me of the KFC advert: man man man. you know that one? haha).

I haven’t made a conscious decision to eat less meat or anything as such, but I have found it to be a natural progression. I find that, the less I eat meat, the less I like it, and the fiance shares the same sentiment. We often have braais – probably two a week and I always find myself eating all the sides and leaving the meat. I take one bite of it, and put it down. There’s just something about the texture. Grinding your teeth into flesh that I just find off putting. Especially chicken. Now, I’m an Afrikaans girl, a boere meisie, so meat has always been our staple diet. Meat, with a side dish of meat. My fiance always jokes that whenever my family has a braai, he calls it the MeatFest3000…hahah…and if I don’t bring a salad to said family braai’s, we will only be eating meat, and potato. This never use to bother me though. I loved braai’s and I loved meat. But just lately, we find ourselves with frozen chicken breasts and frozen mince lying in our freezer for months (partly because we always forget to take it out and defrost it) but mostly because we just don’t enjoy the taste of it. Forget Meat-free Mondays. Its Meat-Mondays and Meat-Free-Tuesday-to-Sundays.

I don’t think I can ever go full vegetarian, let alone, vegan. But I do believe we have a huge responsibility towards mother earth and the way we treat her and it’s time we open our eyes a bit to the damage we are causing. I’m sure most people have the Meat-free-Monday down to a T. So why not implement a Meat-free-Wednesday as well. Baby steps. But it makes the hugest difference in the grand scheme of things. I’m no angel. I still have braai’s and I still love me some pork rashers, but the fiance and I have become a lot more aware of these habits of ours, specially me, and even the smallest of change will make the hugest of difference.

Have a look at this website and see how many of the products you use are on there….

Leave a Reply

